HomeEntertainment NewsGLAAD Hosts the 34th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles

GLAAD Hosts the 34th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles

GLAAD, the world’s largest lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) media advocacy organization, hosted the 34th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles last night where stars spoke out against LGBTQ legislation and stood in solidarity with transgender people.

The GLAAD Media Awards premieres on Hulu on Wednesday, April 12, 2023.

Christina Aguilera received the Advocate for Change Award, Bad Bunny received the Vanguard Award, presented by Ricky Martin, and Jeremy Pope received the Stephen F. Kolzak Award presented by Gabrielle Union, at the star-studded ceremony at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles. The Los Angeles ceremony for the 34th Annual GLAAD Media Awards was hosted by Emmy and Grammy nominated comedian and actress Margaret Cho, and featured special performances from FLETCHER and Orville Peck.

To open this year’s show, queer icon, Jennifer Coolidge, opened the show with a surprise appearance to share her love and appreciation for the LGBTQ community.

GLAAD presented the following awards from six categories onstage:

● A League Of Their Own received the award for Outstanding New TV Series presented by Joel Kim Booster and Ts Madison

● What We Do In The Shadows received the award for Outstanding Comedy Series presented by Raven-Symoné and Isis King

● 9-1-1 Lone Star received the award for Outstanding Drama Series presented by Sarah Michelle Gellar

● Bros received the award for Outstanding Film – Wide Release presented by host Margaret Cho and Liz Jenkins, the Chair of GLAAD’s Board of Directors

● Framing Agnes received the award for Outstanding Documentary presented by Vanessa Williams and Michelle Visage

● FLETCHER received the award for Outstanding Music Artist presented by Lance Bass and Trace Lysette

During the ceremony, GLAAD also announced the winners of select GLAAD Media Awards categories off-stage and on social media. The full list of announced winners thus far can be found below:

Outstanding New TV Series: A League of Their Own (Prime Video)
Outstanding Comedy Series: What We Do in The Shadows (FX)
Outstanding Film – Wide Release: Bros (Universal Pictures)
Outstanding Documentary: Framing Agnes (Kino Lorber)
Outstanding Film – Limited Release: The Inspection (A24)
Outstanding Music Artist: FLETCHER, Girl of My Dreams (Capitol Records)
Outstanding Limited or Anthology Series: The White Lotus (HBO MAX)
Outstanding Comic Book: Poison Ivy, by G. Willow Wilson, Marcio Takara, Atagun Ilhan, Brian Level, Stefano Gaudiano, Jay Leisten, Arif Prianto, Ivan Plascencia, Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou (DC Comics)
Outstanding Original Graphic Novel/Anthology: Young Men in Love (A Wave Blue World)
Outstanding Children’s Programming: “Adoptasaurus Rex” Dino Ranch (Disney Junior)
Outstanding Magazine Overall Coverage: The Advocate
Outstanding Spanish-Language Scripted Television Series: Los Espookys (HBO)
Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism: “Vico Ortiz” Primer Impacto (Univision)
Barbara Gittings Award for Excellence in LGBTQ Media: Los Angeles Blade and Washington Blade
Special Recognition: Alejandra Caraballo
Special Recognition: Drag Story Hour
Special Recognition: Rothaniel (HBO)
Special Recognition: #Letters4TransKids
Special Recognition: The Lesbian Bar Project
Special Recognition (Spanish-Language): “En Sus Palabras” (Univision)

Remaining winners for select categories will be announced at GLAAD’s New York Ceremony on Saturday, May 13.


Most Popular

Recent Comments

Seraphinite AcceleratorOptimized by Seraphinite Accelerator
Turns on site high speed to be attractive for people and search engines.